Project Settings

To configure the project settings open your project and choose Project Settings at the sidebar menu.

Project settings

Details

In the Details section, you can change the project name, add a short description, and change project logo.

Project details

Source Strings

In the Source strings section, you can enable or disable placeholders unification, and enable or disable the saving of the context and max.length to the downloaded files.

Project Settings Source Strings

Unify Placeholders

In case your project contains both iOS strings and Android XML files, you can enable Unify placeholders, and the system will transform placeholders into a unified look. For example, with the enabled Unify placeholders option, both Android string Hello, %s! and the iOS string Hello, %@! will look in the Editor this way: Hello, [%s]!. This option is especially useful when you work with TM since TM suggestions from iOS strings and Android XML will be completely interchangeable. On export, the system will transform the placeholders in the translations back to the original format. This option is applied to iOS Strings and Android XML formats only.

Save Context Information in the Files

If the option Save context information in the files is enabled, the context and max.length added in Crowdin Enterprise will be visible in the downloaded files. This option is applied to CSV, Android XML, iOS strings, and RESX formats only.

Note: To iOS strings and RESX formats, this option is applied partially (i.e., only the context added in Crowdin Enterprise will be visible in the downloaded files).

Translations

In the Translations section, you can manage the duplicate strings, enable or disable machine translation suggestions for the contributors, allow translators to download files for offline translation, allow proofreaders to work with hidden strings, and allow translators to create glossary terms.

Project settings translations

Duplicates

In Duplicates section, select how the system should treat the duplicated strings. You can choose one of the following:

  • Show – translators will translate each duplicate separately
  • Show, but auto-translate them
  • Show (recommended for versions) – duplicates are hidden only across the version branches
  • Hide – all duplicates will share the same translation

Read Duplicated Strings article for more details on duplicates management.

Machine Translation Suggestions

By default, the feature Show machine translation suggestions is enabled. You can disable it and hide machine translation suggestions for the project contributors in the Editor.

Allow Offline Translation

If the option Allow Offline Translation is enabled, translators will be able to download source files to their machines for offline translation and upload translations back into the project. Project owner and managers can always download sources and upload translations, not depending on the option status.

Allow proofreaders to access hidden strings

If the option Allow proofreaders to access hidden strings is enabled, proofreaders will be able to work with hidden strings. Project owner and managers can always work with hidden strings, not depending on the option status.

Allow translators to create glossary terms

If the option Allow translators to create glossary terms is enabled, translators will be able to add new glossary terms to the project. Project owner, managers and proofreaders can always add and edit glossary terms, not depending on the option status.

Translation Memory

Translation Memory is automatically enabled for each project. In the Translation Memory section, you can enable Auto-Substitution. The feature increases the benefit of using the Translation Memory (TM) by suggesting translations with a higher similarity match. If you enable the feature, the non-translatable elements (such as tags, HTML entities, placeholders, numbers and more) in translations will be substituted by TM suggestions used in the source text.

Project translation memory

Notifications

Project notifications are disabled by default. Enable the necessary notifications for an agile translation process. Such approach helps to avoid creating additional tasks for every contributor.

Project notifications

Quality Assurance Settings

Crowdin Enterprise automatically checks every translation against a set of conditions and surfaces errors when they’re introduced. The Quality assurance feature checks for translation consistency, spacing consistency, proper spelling, and more. Also you can configure your custom conditions using the Custom QA Checks. If a mistake is detected a translator will be shown either a warning or error message telling what needs to be fixed.

QA checks for project

Read Quality Assurance Checks and Custom Quality Assurance Checks articles for more details QA Checks management.

Custom placeholders

With Custom placeholders you can modify a list of placeholders that will be highlighted in the source strings in the Editor.

Custom Placeholders

Read Custom Placeholders article for more details on how to add and work with custom placeholders.

Export

By default, Crowdin Enterprise uses source texts for the untranslated strings while exporting translations. You can configure export options using the following settings:

  • Export strings with at least 1 translation
    Choose if you want to export all translated strings without approval.
  • Export translations with a specific number of approvals
    Choose if you want to export only strings with approved translations. Make sure the number of required approvals set isn’t higher than the actual number of proofreading steps in your project workflow.
  • Automatically fill in regional dialects
    Select if your project is translated into language dialects and you want to apply primary language translations to untranslated dialect strings.
    For example, when this option is selected, all untranslated strings in Colombian and Bolivian Spanish (language dialects) will have translations that are already completed in Spanish (primary language).
  • Skip untranslated strings
    Select if you want to export only translated strings. Depending on the file format, untranslated strings will be removed from translation files completely (for example Chrome JSON, Android XML, XLIFF) or exported with empty values (for example Generic JSON, QT TS, PO). This option doesn’t work for text formatted documents (e.g. .docx, .pptx, .xlsx) since missing texts can make downloaded files unreadable.
  • Skip untranslated files
    Select if you want to export only translated files. If this option is active, it overrides the effect of the Skip untranslated strings option.

Click Advanced Options to add separate export settings for specific project languages.

Export options

Language mapping

Add custom language codes and use them for translation files export. This will keep the structure of exported files consistent.

For example, in the screenshot below two custom codes are set for Greek language. If any of custom placeholders (2 letters, 3 letters codes) is used during file export the file name will include these specific language codes (GK, GEK).

Language mapping

Transfer Ownership

Originally, you own any project you create in Crowdin Enterprise. You can transfer your project ownership to any other user in the Organization to which you belong.

Click Transfer and select the needed user to transfer ownership. New project owner will have access to all project resources and will be able to remove the project.

Transfer ownership

Delete Project

This option is accessible to project managers, project owner, parent group managers, and organization admins. If necessary, you can delete the Crowdin Enterprise project with all the translations and related localization resources.

Note! This action can't be undone.

Remove project

Was this article helpful?